Saying Goodbye

Standard

In 1998 I was a 28-year-old carefree woman living it up! I owned my own place for the first time and I was surrounded by great friends.

As 1998 came to a close I thought, at the time, it was the best year of my life and couldn’t get any better until Jessi came into my life. She was 4 lbs of fur and spunk. She showed up late one night in December as a Christmas gift. I remember the phone call from Jeff like it was yesterday. “are you home ? Ok don’t go anywhere I’ll see you in a few minutes” as I hung up I thought ut oh what is he up to? When he showed up at my door with this ball of fur and a crate big enough to house a Great Dane my first thought was what am I going to do with a dog and my second thought was I love her and I need to name her.

Jessi was the first pet I had ever owned and I had no idea what an impact she would have on my life over the next 15 years. We did everything together and I took her everywhere with me. She taught me how to be compassionate for all animals and get involved and give a voice to those animals that could not speak for themselves. I volunteered my time at the human society and learned to love animals even more.

Living alone could be lonely at times but somehow she always brightened my day and filled a void that was in my heart. I never thought I could love an animal so much. It’s so true when people say pets are family because She was truly like my kid.

It was me and Jessi until I got married in 2007 then we made to move to our new home and she rolled right along adjusting to her new surroundings like a champ. The bed was a little more crowded but we adjusted. As the years went on we grew up together.
Then in 2009 Another bundle of Joy came along. At this point Jessi was getting older and so was I.. lol But she went along with the flow.. she didn’t LOVE the new bundle of joy but if they stayed in their on spaces it was all good. I could tell Jessi was starting to slow down and sleeping a lot more. I knew our time would be coming to an end. But I tried to remember my deal I made with God when I got her ” dear God if you let Jessi live as long as she is suppose too and not get injured or get any diseases I will be ok when the time comes”.

It’s never easy to say goodbye to our pet’s but they are not supposed to be here forever. God puts them in our lives for a short time to serve their purpose and to be loved. Making the decision is never easy but when made out of Love it is the right decision. I didn’t want her to suffer and I didn’t want to be selfish and put her through anymore pain that she had already experienced. God kept his end of the deal and Jessi lived a wonderful 15 years so I had to keep mine. It wasn’t easy and I still cry from time to time but it was the right thing to do. She will forever have a place in my heart.

Jessi

Jessi

About theparkersperher

Compassionate, Caring and forgiving.. I love music, Yoga and Dave Matthews Band. I have been married for 6 years and have a beautiful daughter named Savannah.. She truly makes me smile everyday. I have two handsome sons Justin and Jordan that I love as my own and Life is good. I have started this blog to track our daily life. I have a terrible memory and I want to have something Savannah & the boys can look back on and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

