Watching them grow..

Standard

It’s funny how you always hear people say “oh they grow up so fast” and I’m always like hmm hmm I know… Kinda never really took that to heart until after the birth of my daughter Savannah. Don’t get me wrong the first 2 weeks I did not think I was going to make it.  I have never been more sleep deprived in my life.  I remember thinking what have I done??  I don’t know what I expected but I NEVER thought it would be that hard.  Now 2 years later I look back and think I really made it through.  And she is amazing.

When I found out I was pregnant I was in shock.  On my way to work I called my friend Theresa it was Tuesday October 21st @ 6am shortly after I had taken 3 pregnancy test JUST to make sure.  I couldn’t believe it.  How was I going to tell Jeff not sure if he really expected it to happen.  Jeff and i had talked about it and went with a “let’s see what happens” approach and guess what..It happened.  I had scheduled a doctor’s appointment 3 months earlier and it just happen to be on the Friday the 24th.  Funny how that worked out.  I went to my doctor’s appointment that I had originally made to check and see if I was going through early menopause and she laughed and confirmed that I was not.

I left that appointment and immediately started reading everything I could get my hands on.  No more caffeine, Alcohol, deli meat, raw meat, sushi, certain types of cheeses ect..ect… Because of my age at the time of the pregnancy (38) I had to go through all the test to make sure everything was going to be ok and if not how to prepare myself.  I was nervous, happy, scared you name it I felt it.  But one thing i was going to do was educate myself on what’s best for my baby.  I tried to do everything by the book.. Except for the 10 extra pounds I wasnt suppose to gain the pregnancy was perfect.  Every test came back positive every visit was positive.  Text book as my doctor said.

When it was time for the delivery I was anxious.  I wasn’t sure what to expect you know you hear every horror story out there and I had no intentions of having my own.  I started having contractions on Saturday night June 13th woke up around 5am called the doctor and said it’s time.  I didn’t want to spend all day lying around the hospital so I showered, got ready, walked the dogs and woke Jeff up.  We go to the hospital around 7am and I was 6cm at that point. Epidural please.  Once that was received I never felt another thing.  around 1:20pm the doctor came in said it was time to push and at 2:05pm June 14th, 2009 Savannah Jaymes Parker was born.  Wow I am a mommy.

Looking into my eyes...

 

From that day forward I vowed to give her all the opportunities I never had.  Over the last 2 years I have read, watched video’s, prayed and loved that baby with every ounce of life that i have.  I have watched her grow from being completely dependent to “I do it mommy”.  I wake her every morning with a smile, big hugs and lots of kisses.  I do get frustrated at times but I ALWAYS try to be a positive mommy and show her that the world is good.  I open her up to new experiences as often as possible.  She has a love of life that I hope will stay with her a lifetime.  Her spirit is innocent and good and it complete’s me.

Fast forward 2 years later..

Portrait of Happy

As we embark on this new journey of pre-school I hope and pray that god continues to bless her with Wisdom, Health and Faith. So that when she get’s upset she can be comforted and know that she is loved more than I will ever be able to express.

About theparkersperher

Compassionate, Caring and forgiving.. I love music, Yoga and Dave Matthews Band. I have been married for 6 years and have a beautiful daughter named Savannah.. She truly makes me smile everyday. I have two handsome sons Justin and Jordan that I love as my own and Life is good. I have started this blog to track our daily life. I have a terrible memory and I want to have something Savannah & the boys can look back on and enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. It’s the first lesson you learn as a parent. “That’s not just a saying! I just always thought…? That they were just saying that. No, they REALLY DO grow fast!” I’m so glad you’re getting to be her Mommy. It’s an experience unlike any other. And she’s so lucky too! You are going to be able to guide and give her so much and she’s going to just keep getting more and more amazing. I got a little teary eyed seeing that picture of her looking at you when she was born. UGH. Come take all my maternity clothes quick. I just love a newborn!

Leave a Reply

